# Charlie Brown School Basketball Teams

# of 1948, 1950, 1952

The Charlie Brown School basketball teams won a total of 3 state championships in 5 years in the old Prairie View Interscholastic League before the school was integrated with Columbia High School in 1965. The 1948 team defeated Hallsville Gailee 65-42 to win their first state championship. The 1950 team also defeated Hallsville Gailee 72-34 to win the second state championship for the Charlie Brown School. The 1952 team defeated Livingston Dunbar to win the school's third state championship in 5 years.

# Members of the 1948 team:

AJ Jones Clyde Jackson Jesse Fields AD Buford Herman Lewis Gus Rose Willie Armstead

## Members of both the 1948 and 1950 teams are:

RJ Jones Felix Fillips

#### Member of the 1950 team:

### Frank Gibson

### Members of both the 1950 and 1952 teams are:

Frank Fields Walter Fields Leroy Gibson Thurman Gibson Don Ray Barrett Austin Sanders Tyler Thomas Jr.

Members of the 1952 team: Randolph Hobbs Leroy Donley